Enquire about our services

New Zealand

New Zealand (MāoriAotearoa [aɔˈtɛaɾɔa]) is an island nation in the south western parciffic ocean. It consists of two major land masses and over 700 smaller islands.

Area: 268,021[6] km2(103,483 sq mi) (75th)

Water(%): 1.6[n 5]

Population: (April 2024 estimate) 5,350,320[8] (120th)

GDP (PPP): (2023 estimate) $279.183 billion[10](63rd) and $53,809[10] (32nd) per capita

GDP (nominal): (2023 estimate) $249.415 billion[10](51st) and $48,071[10] (23rd) per capita

Currency: New Zealand dollar ($) (NZD)

Inflations rate April 2024: 4%

Time zone: UTC+12 (NZST[n 6]) and Summer (DSTUTC+13 (NZDT[n 7])

New Zealand: Aotearoa (Māori)

Capital: Wellington (41°18′S 174°47′E)

Largest city: Auckland

Official languages: English[n 2]MāoriNZ Sign Language

Ethnic groups (2018)[3]: 70.2% European, 16.5% Māori, 15.1% Asian, 8.1% Pacific peoples, 1.5% ME/LA/African, 1.2% other[n 3]

Religion (2018)[4]: 48.2% no religion, 36.5% Christianity[n 4], 8.3% other, 6.7% unanswered

Demonym(s): New ZealanderKiwi (colloquial)

Government: Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy

Monarch: Charles III

Governor-General: Cindy Kiro

Prime Minister: Christopher Luxon

Legislature: Parliament (House of Representatives)

Enquire about our services